“Sweets” Day is Upon Us!

Do you like crime fiction?  Noir?  Comics?  This post is for you.

Today marks the release of “Sweets” #1 from Image Comics, written, drawn, colored and lettered by Kody Chamberlain.  Here’s the gist:

A spree killer terrorizes New Orleans days before Hurricane Katrina makes landfall. Detective Curt Delatte just buried his only daughter, and he’s in no condition to work. But when the bodies pile up, he masks his grief and joins the hunt through the bowels of the Big Easy. It won’t be long until his city—and his evidence—gets washed away.

CHAMBERLAIN, a native of southern Louisiana, makes his writing debut with this dark and gritty miniseries.

Kody is one of my best friends in the comics industry, but I didn’t know him prior to wanting to work with him.  I saw his work, initially on Boom! Studios’ “Tag” and then followed the name wherever it went.  I met with Kody at Comic-Con in 2006 to talk to him about potentially doing some work for Top Cow (yes, even then I had plans to change the culture there) after first musing about one day working with him in my initial post on a previous workblog.

He won me over instantly.  It wasn’t his sketchbook.  It wasn’t that he’s a genuinely awesome and incredibly nice guy.  It was his passion.  We talked about what he had done to get to where he was at in his career, and where he wanted to go.  And when he mentioned “Sweets,” four years before it would eventually hit stands, I knew it was only a matter of time before Kody was off and running, writing and drawing his own awesome crime comics and leaving my (then unpublished) ass in the dust.  Before that happened, I was lucky enough to have Kody draw the first miniseries I was ever paid to write (that for a number of reasons has yet to come out, and will do so without my name, but Kody really did his thing and made me look good).

“Sweets” isn’t just another comic from just another artist.  It’s the work of a truly brilliant creator, and one comics is lucky to have.  I’ve read the scripts for the entire series and seen some in-progress art.  I’ve followed the “Sweets” workblog ‘In No Particular Order‘ and been amazed at how much care and insight Kody has to every single step in the process – even the ones that don’t seem all that important.

For all these reasons and more, I’m urging anyone who likes good stories, comics, crime fiction, noir, Kody, me, or all that is good in the world to pick up both #1 and the rest of the series.  It will be worth it.  You will be entertained.  You’ll be amazed one man can be so good at every single discipline that goes into making a comic.  And you will wait with baited breath for whatever Kody decides to offer up to us next.

Comic Book Resources has posted a 9-page preview, so don’t just take my word for it:

“Sweets” #1 Preview

Pick up your comic and promote today far and wide via the Internet and the Twitters:

http://tinyurl.com/sweetsday
http://kodychamberlain.blogspot.com/2010/07/free-original-artwork-from-sweets.html

Leave a Reply

