Thinking Oscar (2009 Edition)

The nominations are out, and here are my quick thoughts, having not seen much:
  • Best Picture – the movie most people will not have seen is The Reader
  • Best Actor – Where is young Hollywood this year?  Also surprised to see Eastwood passed over.
  • Best Actress – Is it me or does this category look increasingly familiar each year?  Glad to see Melissa Leo on there for some variety.
  • Best Director – I know Ron Howard is good, and he’s gotten plenty of acclaim, but he’s up against some serious talent here.  I haven’t seen Frost/Nixon, but this nod makes me want to see it sooner rather than later.  And no Christopher Nolan?
  • Original Screenplay – Thrilled that Wall-E and In Bruges are up.  The latter is an underseen gem, and the former…  Damn it’s good.
  • Adapted Screenplay – I’ve seen one of these…  Sad.
  • Editing – Give it to Slumdog now and save some time.
  • Animated Feature – I know I’ve only seen the one, but it better win.  
  • WANTED – got two nominations.  Huzzah!
Because I had a meeting get moved, I’ll likely post some thoughts on a couple movies I saw on Sunday later today.  You know, as opposed to this where I yammer about things I haven’t seen.
Leave a Reply

